Hertford Town FC originally established in 1901 as Port Vale Rovers, but were soon renamed Hertford Football Club in order to gain recognition as the town’s main side. Following a merger with Hertford United, the club was renamed Hertford Town. After absorbing two more teams – Blue Cross and Horns – in 1908, Hertford joined the Eastern Division of the Hertfordshire Senior County League for the 1908–09 season, which saw them finish as runners-up.

League reorganisation in 1909 saw Hertford Town FC placed in the Central Division. They finished bottom of the league in its first season, before being moved back into the Eastern Division in 1910. The club was also playing in the East Herts League, which they won in 1912–13. The following season saw Hertford Town retain the East Herts League title and finish second in the Eastern Division of the Hertfordshire Senior County League. After switching to the Middlesex League for the 1920–21 season, the club joined Division One of the Spartan League in 1921.Following league reorganisation in 1928, Hertford were placed in Division One East, with an eleventh-place finish seeing us moved to Division One the following season when a Premier Division was created.

In 1938–39 Hertford were Division One runners-up and promoted to the Premier Division. However, the following season was abandoned due to World War II and when the league restarted in 1945, Hertford Town FC were placed in the Central Division, finishing bottom of the table in the 1945–46 campaign. Despite their poor performance, the club were placed in the Premier Division the following season, but went on to finish bottom of the table again. The club lost the use of its ground in 1947 and left the league for a season before returning to the Spartan League in 1948, when they were placed in Division One East. After winning the division in 1949–50, we were promoted back to the Premier Division in 1950 and were runners-up in 1955–56 and 1956–57.

In 1959 Hertford transferred to the Delphian League and were runners-up in the first season. They went on to win back-to-back league titles in 1960–61 and 1961–62. The 1962–63 season was eventually abandoned due to bad weather, but Hertford won both the League Cup and the Eastern Section of the emergency competition, going on to lose the title decider to Western Section Champions Edmonton 5–2 on aggregate. We also won the East Anglian Cup by beating Boston United 1–0 in the final, a match played at home in front of a 3,000 crowd.When the Delphian League was disbanded at the end of the season, Hertford joined the new Division Two of the Athenian League alongside most of the other former Delphian League clubs. A fourth-place finish in 1963–64 was enough to earn promotion to Division One at the first attempt and the club went on to win the league’s Memorial Shield in 1967–68.

Hertford switched to the Eastern Counties League in 1972, winning the league cup and finishing third in the league in their first season, but left to join the newly-formed Division Two of the Isthmian League. The division was renamed Division One in 1977, and the club were relegated to Division Two North after finishing bottom of the table in 1984–85. League restructuring in 1991 saw the club placed in Division Three. Hertford Town were promoted to Division Two after finishing runners-up in 1998–99, but were relegated the following season. Further league restructuring saw Hertford placed in Division One North in 2002, but they finished bottom of the table in the division’s inaugural campaign and were relegated to Division Two.

After the division was disbanded in 2006, they joined the Premier Division of the Spartan South Midlands League. The club were Premier Division runners-up in 2016–17 and subsequently promoted to the Bostik League North ahead of the 2017/18 campaign.